Progress Report – 21/09/2012

Leave a comment

September 22, 2012 by Daniel

EDIT: The slashes are little syringes!  Bahahahaha!

Contrary to what one might expect, I’m not exactly starting this project from square one; I’ve already started going through some of it.  So, here is my first Progress Report, the feature that will keep me updating regularly in-between longer pieces.  I’ll be telling you what points I’ve reached in various works, as well as letting you know what sort of pieces you can expect from me in the near future.  These things will almost undoubtedly contain some spoilers, though I’ll try to keep details as vague as I can while still communicating where I’m at for people who have already finished whatever I’m talking about. On with the show!

1.  My friend and bandmate Tal bought me Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children for my birthday in March, and I finally started reading it about two months ago.  I’ve been reading it off-and-on since – I’m now around page 150.  Rushdie’s prose is incredibly thick and he has a very unique voice – he infuses each sentence with more ideas than most authors have in their entire novels.  This is amazing, but all the little details he constantly inserts makes it a bit of a slow read.  I’m getting more into it now because my Music of India class as well as the Hindu and Buddhist imagery of Asura’s Wrath  is making me more interested in Indian culture.  Still, I probably won’t be done for quite some time.

2.  Speaking of Asura’s Wrath, I finished that last weekend, and I’m working on a think-piece about it at the moment.  Yes, I will be attempting to analyze a game about a guy who’s really really angry and mostly just fights things.  Should be interesting.  Look for it soon.

3.  I’ve been listening to Toronto rapper More or Les’s newest album Mastication all day – expect a review shortly.

4.  I watched Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind a little while ago, which is the first Studio Ghibli film.  I don’t have too much to say about it, certainly not enough for a longer piece.  I wasn’t really in the right headspace for it while I was watching, and it took me about four individual sittings to get through even though it’s only two hours long.  It’s quite well-made, with a good sense of style, some animation that still manages to be fluid even though its almost 30 years old, and a dub – which features stars like Patrick Stewart and Uma Thurman – that performs adequately.  The last 45 minutes-or-so of it are excellent, and I love how despite it being, essentially, a kids movie, it still manages to be very mature – it doesn’t shy away from showing that war is bloody and it deals with some fairly heavy topics.

5. I’m getting back into the surrogate guitar-teacher game Rocksmith, and I’m pretty sure I’m almost done the main “career” mode.  The way it approaches teaching is kind of interesting, and I think I might do some experiments to see how well it actually works.  So, maybe something about that soon.

That’s all for now!  Keep on checking here for more updates.  And if you want to subscribe to the RSS feed, the link is at the bottom of the page.

– Daniel

Leave a Reply

Put your e-mail here for updates as they happen!

RSS RSS Feed!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
