Highlights – 10/15/2012

Leave a comment

October 15, 2012 by Daniel

Man, I go for a week without posting anything and I’m already getting homesick.  Sorry for the lack of recent updates; things have been busy.  But I’ve got stuff in the works, don’t you worry!  All my highlights from this week are from Midnight’s Children; though there were other good things I checked out throughout the week, I unfortunately didn’t write down anything.  I’m going to start walking around with a small notepad to avoid this happening again.  Anywho, here they are!

“I told you the truth…Memory’s truth, because memory has its own special kind.  It selects, eliminates, laters, exaggerates, minimizes, glorifies, and vilifies also; but in the end it creates its own reality, its heterogenous but usually coherent version of events; and no sane human being ever trusts someone else’s version more than his own.”

“Not a single one of us suggested that the purpose of Midnight’s Children might be annihilation; that we would have no meaning until we were destroyed.”

“Most of what matters in your life takes place in your absence.”

“Child of an unknown union, I have had more mothers than most mothers have children; giving birth to parents has been one of my stranger talents.”

“The world is full of love stories, and all lovers are in a sense the avatars of their predecessors.”

 

Leave a Reply

Put your e-mail here for updates as they happen!

RSS RSS Feed!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
